Estranged and Deranged

Although technically inaccurate, I consider both of my children to be “adults”. Maybe they can’t drink or vote or whatever, but on a conscious, maturity level. They both made the conscious decision to leave. Not just I want to spend more time with Mom, not an ‘I don’t want to live here anymore’. But a mind, body, and soul leave. An ‘I’m not talking to you again’ type of left.

For awhile I’ll admit, it kind of pissed me off. I don’t understand how one can just not talk to a parent. But that’s just my respect for my parents I guess.

What I don’t understand is the ‘critics’. The people who tell me that because I am the parent, I should be the one calling them and making amends. It’s not like they are little kids. They are of driving age and older. One is a legal ‘adult’. My opinion is that they were old enough to make a conscious decision to leave with no attachment. Why is this my responsibility to make amends? I have repeatedly said that our doors are still open.

About cajunragin

Not really cajun. Just in spirit. Love everything about the cajun culture.
This entry was posted in Kids, Miscellaneous, Random Thoughts, Rants, Venting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

