Only When You Want Something

So apparently my kids are now only talking to my when they want something. I’ve heard from both of them this week, asking a question or wanting me to do something for them.

I was lucky enough to get a birthday text from each. But that was it just a simple “happy birthday”. Nothing more.
For Christmas it was a silent car ride to the families celebration because they went with us. Said nothing on the hour and a half ride there, nor on the way back. Attempts were made to get them to sing Christmas carols with us, but I guess they were deprived children and don’t know the words to Rudolph and Frosty.

I got a shot glass from my eldest. That was it.

In a way I guess I shouldn’t complain. I didn’t get them anything either, but then I’ve been out of work for two years and have NO money. So what do they expect?

For new years, I got a text from my youngest.

Oh I also got a text on Christmas morning from each. But the youngest one also added the “are you gonna pay for this or that for Christmas or my birthday?”. I thought that was nice and in the true spirit of Christmas. I responded with just a simple “merry Christmas”.

I often wonder how things would be different if I was working and had even a little money. Would I see them more? Or would would there just be more texts asking for more things?

About cajunragin

Not really cajun. Just in spirit. Love everything about the cajun culture.
This entry was posted in Kids, Random Thoughts, Rants, Venting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

