letter to my kids

Dearest Children,

Edited to protect the guilty.

Love Always,

Dad

About cajunragin

Not really cajun. Just in spirit. Love everything about the cajun culture.
This entry was posted in Kids, Random Thoughts, Rants, Venting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to letter to my kids

  1. cajunragin says:

    looking for any and all comments, critiques, criticism, opinions, advice and suggestions, before giving this letter to my children.

  2. I am a college girl who supports myself completely and don’t talk much to my parents because I feel like they have no respect for my opinions whatsoever. However, I acknowledge how difficult it is to be a parent, especially when kids grow up and realize that Mom or Dad isn’t the perfect people they were suppose to be. I feel your letter is reasonable and acceptable until the last part when you start talking about blame and regret. I know whenever my parents tell me to start accepting responsibility I completely shut off. Explain your own opinions about the solution but NEVER assume how your child feels (ex: you blame me, you choose to do this). Instead, ask questions about how they feel. Listen, don’t preach. I know that’s what would get me to talk to my parents again.

    • cajunragin says:

      American Girl, thanks for your advice and comments. I will give them serious weight.
      My only rebuttal, if you will, is that I am not assuming how they feel. If you read the angry blog post, that came straight out of the elfeats blog.
      But, thank you for the comment and advice. I will give it serious thought before giving them the letter.
      ~Cajun

Leave a Reply

