The proposal

I believe that I have briefly mentioned this in a previous post. But, thought it only fitting to dedicate an entire post to it.

I have been dating my girlfriend for about three years. We’ve talked on numerous occasions about getting married. So it wasn’t totally out of the blue or completely unexpected, however the timing and circumstances were.

For the first two years whenever some would suggest anything about us getting married, we would both quickly nix the idea. Privately, we’ve been talking about it for awhile now. And seriously discussing it for the past 6 months or so.

A little background; we’ve both been married before. She had never had someone ‘formally’ propose. It was one of those “let’s get married” type of things. I’m a little old fashioned, so my first one was formal, at a dance hall, on one knee, with a microphone.

We had been planning a party for about 8 months. The invitations got a little out of hand, but ended up with about 40 people at our house. I have been giving serious thought to doing the proposal at the party for about 4 months. Sometimes it would be no, the timing wasn’t right, no ring, no job, etc. But it always came back to the fact that if it was going to be formal, this would be the best opportunity.

I asked her eldest son about two months ago. Asked he mother about a month ago. Told my best friend about a month ago. That was it until about two weeks before our party. Her brother wasn’t going to come, so I told him my plan, to ensure that her mom, brother and sister were there. Told another friend of mine the day before.

So, now its the day of the party. I had the party speech made, and had a rough speech of the proposal typed. Luckily, I was distracted enough with getting all the food out, that I didn’t have time to think about what I was going to say.

Once all the food was out, and I had everyone sitting down. I grabbed their attention and started in. We were both standing at the front and I could see her trying to read my speech, so I had to ad lib it all. (so much for preparation!)

I started out by thanking everyone for showing up, and welcoming then. Then, I started into how the last three years have been amazing, and even though we’ve had some trials, our relationship has gotten stronger. (now at this point, I’m looking at her and realize that she has no idea where this is going. And I’m pretty much as nervous as a cat in water.) And then I say something like, so with that being said. I dropped to one knee. Then asked her to marry me.

Well, at the time it seemed like she kept me down there for a long time, with a shocked look on her face. Her eyes started to well up a little. But she said yes!

I regained my composure and finished the rest of the speech and let the guests eat!

Aside from the fact that she said yes, the best part was that only a very few people knew it was coming. And the total look of shock on her face! Glad we got it on video!

About cajunragin

Not really cajun. Just in spirit. Love everything about the cajun culture.
This entry was posted in Fun stuff, Upbeat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

