Annual ‘Cookout’

We have this annual ‘cookout’ that is coming up. It’s not your typical BBQ style cookout. Its more of me showing off. And its only the second time, so I don’t know how annual it is yet.

But, anyway.

This year, we are ahead of the game, kind of. We have the guest list finalized (70 people), and the menu finalized. Some of the food has been purchased, but we have along way to go.

I cook all the food and won’t allow anyone else to bring food. There are multiple reasons, but primarily, I try to have a loose theme to what is presented and I don’t want to have it get too far away from that theme.

I’m more than a little stressed this year. 70 people is a lot to cook for. Last year we did 35, and that was bad enough. Although, we are better prepared this year. Have actually looked at it logistically, and will be preparing what can be ahead of time. I will also be delegating some of the actually cooking this year. It will all still be cooked at our house with my recipes, but will have more help, so that I can socialize and watch all the pots so to speak this year.

I look forward to getting everyone together in one place and do get excited about it. But this year is more stressful, number of people and financial aspect of putting this on is starting to get to me.

We are looking at trying to downsize next year, but I just don’t see a lot of people that we can really cut from the list. If I have a job next year, I’m almost thinking of splitting the party in two. Have one in the spring and one in the fall. But I don’t think is feasible either.

Of course I also said that if I don’t have a job, I don’t think we will have one next year. But the demand is so high, we probably will.

As it gets closer I will post again with some of the menu items.

About cajunragin

Not really cajun. Just in spirit. Love everything about the cajun culture.
This entry was posted in Fun stuff, Upbeat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

