Morning Joe

So I was having my morning cup of joe this morning while watching Morning Joe.

They were talking to someone who wrote an article for I believe the New Yorker but I’m not sure. It was titled something like ‘I love my kids, but hate my life’. About how parents generally aren’t happy. The pressure to make each moment of our kids life ‘special’ and memorable. Unlike when we were kids.

So, this article has me thinking about parenting and my kids and step-kids. And that I should probably get online and read the whole article.

From what I got from the interview, I do think that todays parents try to hard to ensure the happiness of their kids.

From what I remember as a child, and its somewhat biased, sure our parents wanted us to be happy, but we also learned disappointment, loss and struggle. We also knew what it was to want. And more importantly the difference between need and want. Our parents knew, or were more selfish, that their happiness had to come first. It wasn’t all about the kids and what the kids wanted, it was about survival, and what they wanted to be happy.
I remember growing up and going to the local amusement park twice with my parents and only two vacations ever. I did a lot of local stuff with my mom, but rarely was my dad involved, because he was working.
Don’t get me wrong, I had a great childhood, wouldn’t change any of it. But it revolved more around them and what they wanted, then it did us kids.

So, I reflect on my situation with my kids now. I am becoming more and more my fathers son. I believe that when a parent speaks a child should listen and do what they are told, not argue, complain, and whine. I believe chores help to build a work ethic, and I don’t believe in an allowance. I think that your allowance is the roof over your head, food on the table, your ps3, xbox and all the other crap that you can’t pick up and take care of! I think that by the time you are a teenager you should have some understanding that your parents work 40-60 hours a week to provide you these things the least you can do is take care of yourself, and maybe, just maybe pitch in and do some things voluntarily with out being asked. Just because you see that it needs done. To understand that after busting our ass at work for 8, 10, 12 hours the last thing we want to do is come home and spend another hour picking up your clothes, dishes, and everything you happened to touch that day and couldn’t pick up and put away, because you were too involved in sitting on your ass to contribute anything to the house work that needs to be done.

I have serious concern for the next generation! It seems that they expect to just have things handed to them! They have no drive, and spend more time and energy trying to get out of work then it would take to just do it! I know that they are not all like that. But it seems to be a lot of them with that attitude. Its been along time since I’ve seen that generation do something 120% and to the best of their ability.

I realize that I am starting to ramble on now, so I will close this one and go read that article now.

About cajunragin

Not really cajun. Just in spirit. Love everything about the cajun culture.
This entry was posted in Kids, Venting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morning Joe

  1. joe says:

    there was a song on the show this morning – lots of piano – sounded like Bruce S. but probably wasn’t – what is the name of that song?

  2. joe pelzel says:

    there was a song on the show this morning – lots of rock and roll piano – sounded like The Boss, but probably wasn’t – what’s the name?

Leave a Reply

