Music and age

I’ve come to the conclusion today that I am officially getting old!

I was looking for new music today, something different, new to me, that I could really get into while working outside.

I’ve always had rather diverse taste in music; blues, classic rock, country, zydeco. Occasionally, there will be a band on the radio that I can get into: Nickelback, Matchbox 20, 3 Doors Down, etc. Pretty mainstream I know, but to me they kind of have that old school feel, or good lyrics that I can get behind. Mostly, it’s led zeppelin, Eagles, Bad company, journey, etc. I think that’s why I’m so attracted to the blues; the lyrics.

Country, especially the stuff from the 90’s and earlier, I think had better lyrics. But I still listen to the new country stuff.

Sorry, I digress. Today I’m looking for music and I find myself stumbling more and more to jazz. Some of the really cool classics like Etta James, Ella Fitzgerald, etc. Some newer modern jazz as well. Both with and without lyrics. I’m really digging the stuff and the realize that its all mostly jazz and start feeling old, because I’ve never been a jazz fan. It always seemed “old”.

I know the true history of jazz is rooted in the blues, but I’ve just never gotten into jazz. The classic singers, Frank, Tony, and Dean, but that’s as close as I’ve ever gotten to Jazz until today!

So any recommendations new or old would be appreciated! Thanks!

About cajunragin

Not really cajun. Just in spirit. Love everything about the cajun culture.
This entry was posted in Fun stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

